FTSCS 2013

Second International Workshop on Formal Techniques for Safety-Critical Systems

Queenstown, New Zealand, October 29, 2013

http://www.ftscs.org/

Overview and Scope

There is an increasing demand in industry to use formal methods for verification and validation of safety-critical systems, in avionics, automotive, medical, and other cyber-physical systems. Newer standards, such as DO-178C (avionics) and ISO 26262 (automotive), emphasize the need for formal methods and modelbased development, speeding up their adaptation in industry.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers and engineers who are interested in the application of formal and semiformal methods. Specific topics include, but are not limited to:

- formal methods in safety-critical systems, including avionics, automotive, medical, and other safety-/QoS-critical systems
- case studies and experience reports
- methods, techniques and tools
- limitations of formal methods in industry (usability, scalability)
- formal analysis support for modeling languages used in industry, such as AADL, Ptolemy, SysML, SCADE, Modelica
- code generation from validated models.

Publication

Accepted papers in categories A - D will appear in the proceedings of the workshop, published as a volume in Springer's Communications in Computer and Information Science (CCIS) series.

Authors of selected accepted papers will be invited to submit extended versions to appear in a special issue of the Science of Computer Programming journal.

Submission

We solicit submissions reporting on:

- A original research contributions (15 pages max)
- **B** applications and experiences (15 pages max)
- C surveys, comparisons, state-of-the-art reports (15 p. max)
- D— tool papers (5 pages max)
- E position papers and work in progress (5 pages max)

Important Dates

Submission deadline: September 1, 2013

Notification: September 28, 2013

Workshop: October 29, 2013

Program Committee

Erika Ábrahám Musab AlTurki Toshiaki Aoki Farhad Arbab Cyrille Artho Saddek Bensalem Armin Biere Santiago Escobar Ansgar Fehnker Mamoun Filali **Bernd Fischer** Kokichi Futatsugi Klaus Havelund Marieke Huisman **Ralf Huuck** Fuyuki Ishikawa Takashi Kitamura Alexander Knapp Paddy Krishnan Yang Liu Robi Malik César Muñoz Tang Nguyen Thomas Noll Peter Ölveczky Paul Pettersson **Camilo Rocha** Grigore Rosu Neha Rungta **Ralf Sasse Oleg Sokolsky** Sofiène Tahar **Carolyn Talcott** Michael Whalen Peng Wu

RWTH Aachen University, Germany King Fahd University, Saudi Arabia JAIST, Japan Leiden University and CWI, The Netherlands AIST, Japan (chair) Verimag, France Johannes Kepler University, Austria Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain University of the South Pacific, Fiji **IRIT**, France Stellenbosch University, South Africa JAIST, Japan NASA JPL, USA University of Twente, The Netherlands NICTA/UNSW, Sydney, Australia National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo, Japan AIST, Japan Augsburg University, Germany Oracle Labs Brisbane, Australia Nanyang Technological University, Singapore University of Waikato, New Zealand NASA Langley, USA Hanoi University of Industry, Vietnam RWTH Aachen University, Germany University of Oslo, Norway (chair) Mälardalen University, Sweden Escuela Colombiana de Ingeniería, Colombia Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA NASA Ames, USA ETH Zürich, Switzerland University of Pennsylvania, USA Concordia University, Canada SRI International, USA Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya Osaka University, Japan University of Minnesota, USA Chinese Academy of Sciences, China