# **FTSCS 2014**

## Third International Workshop on Formal Techniques for Safety-Critical Systems

Luxembourg, November 6-7, 2014

http://www.ftscs.org/

### **Overview and Scope**

There is an increasing demand in industry to use formal methods for verification and validation of safety-critical systems, in avionics, automotive, medical, and other cyber-physical systems. Newer standards, such as DO-178C (avionics) and ISO 26262 (automotive), emphasize the need for formal methods and modelbased development, speeding up their adaptation in industry.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers and engineers who are interested in the application of formal and semiformal methods. Specific topics include, but are not limited to:

- formal methods in safety-critical systems, including avionics, automotive, medical, and other safety-/QoS-critical systems
- case studies and experience reports
- methods, techniques and tools
- limitations of formal methods in industry (usability, scalability)
- formal analysis support for modeling languages used in industry, such as AADL, Ptolemy, SysML, SCADE, Modelica
- code generation from validated models.

#### **Publication**

Accepted papers in categories A – D will appear in the proceedings of the workshop, published as a volume in Springer's Communications in Computer and Information Science (CCIS) series.

Authors of selected accepted papers will be invited to submit extended versions to appear in a special issue of the Science of Computer Programming journal.

#### Submission

We solicit submissions reporting on:

- A original research contributions (15 pages max)
- B applications and experiences (15 pages max)
- C surveys, comparisons, state-of-the-art reports (15 p. max) D— tool papers (5 pages max)
- E position papers and work in progress (5 pages max)

### **Important Dates**

Submission deadline: September 6, 2014

Notification: October 3, 2014

Workshop: November 6 and/or 7, 2014

#### Program Commit

Erika Ábrahám Musab AlTurki Toshiaki Aoki Farhad Arbab Cyrille Artho Kyungmin Bae Saddek Bensalem **Armin Biere** Ansgar Fehnker Mamoun Filali Bernd Fischer Klaus Havelund Marieke Huisman **Ralf Huuck** Fuyuki Ishikawa Takashi Kitamura Alexander Knapp Yang Liu Robi Malik Frédéric Mallet César Muñoz Thomas Noll Peter Ölveczky **Charles Pecheur Paul Pettersson Camilo Rocha Ralf Sasse Oleg Sokolsky** Sofiène Tahar **Carolyn Talcott** Tatsuhiro Tsuchiya Chen-Wei Wang Michael Whalen Huibiao Zhu

RWTH Aachen University, Germany King Fahd University, Saudi Arabia JAIST, Japan Leiden University and CWI, The Netherlands AIST, Japan (chair) Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA Verimag, France Johannes Kepler University, Austria University of the South Pacific, Fiji **IRIT**, France Stellenbosch University, South Africa NASA JPL, USA University of Twente, The Netherlands NICTA, Australia National Institute of Informatics, Japan AIST, Japan Augsburg University, Germany Nanyang Technological University, Singapore University of Waikato, New Zealand Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, France NASA Langley, USA RWTH Aachen University, Germany University of Oslo, Norway (chair) Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium Mälardalen University, Sweden Escuela Colombiana de Ingeniería, Colombia ETH Zürich, Switzerland University of Pennsylvania, USA Concordia University, Canada SRI International, USA Osaka University, Japan McMaster University, Canada University of Minnesota, USA East China Normal University, China